WPE Spotlight: Paisley Petals

8 Aug

Paula (& Aidan), owner (& cutie pie) of Paisley Petals

  1. One quirk of mine: I cannot stand for people to put their bare feet on me. Some members of my family have been known to chase me around my house trying to gross me out with their nasty feet!
  2. I don’t know how to: Drive a manual transmission. I have tried to learn several times. And failed. Miserably.
  3. I collect: Not much- my 728 sq. ft . 1927 Craftsman house doesn’t allow for many collect ions . Unless you count great products for home organization- I collect a lot of those!
  4. I have 0 tattoos. My husband has 2 , and if he has his way, it won’t be long before he has more than enough for both of us .
  5. One thing you’ll always find in my purse: Smith’s Rosebud Salve. Best . Lip Balm. Ever !
  6. I wish I could: Hire someone to cook and clean for me-especially during wedding season.
  7. My favorite song of all time is: Oh, I love so much music. “You Take My Breath Away” By Eva Cassidy is right up there- it ’s the one I walked down the ais le to!
  8. Favorite quote: Lots of faves here, too, but currently, it’s “Gratitude turns what we have into enough.”
  9. I am a florist for a living because: are you kidding? I get to make money doing what I love, do it from a home studio so I can be home with my sweet Aidan, AND work with fabulous & unique people to make their weddings reflect who they are? Could there be anything better?
  10. My fear is: Sharks. Thankfully, living in the Northwest , it ’s not a fear I have to face very often.
  11. I was named after: hmmm….no one in particular that I can think of.
  12. I am a night person because: I sleep hardest toward the end of my sleep cycle, so waking up is pretty much torture. It takes me a solid 2 hours to really feel alert!

I grew up on 5 acres of woods in South King County. My mom, a talented gardener, would let me use flowers out of her yard to make arrangements for my grandmas, starting in about the 4th grade. I worked at a flower shop in high school, but mostly handled shop clean up and deliveries. I watched, though. I asked questions, and soaked up as much as I could. I went off to college in Portland and friends started asking me to do their wedding flowers. I thought, “me? seriously?” But with each wedding, my skills and confidence grew. I spent about 7 years after college working at a couple of different non-profits, picking up weddings here and there. While my work for these agencies was good and meaningful, it wasn’t my passion. In the spring of 2007, I quit my job, took the leap, and went full time with Paisley Petals (named after Paisley, Scotland, where my paternal grandparents were originally from)! It has been the most rewarding, fulfilling experience to make a living doing what I love. Somewhere in there, I fell in love with the most amazing husband a girl could ask for. Eric and I were married in September of 2005, at a venue that is now owned by the woman who owned the flower shop I worked at in high school. In September of 2009, we welcomed our sweet boy Aidan Micah to the world. And yes, I had a wedding that day. And every weekend for 6 weeks after that. Because I am a crazy person. But, I always say, you have to be a special kind of crazy to be in the wedding business. And I love it!

We’re not the only ones who like Paisley Petals!

The Knot Best of Wedding 2011 pick
Wedding Wire Rated 2009 , 2010 , & 2011
Evening Magazine’s Best of Western Washington 2011 – 4th place out of 192 entries in the Wedding Florist Category.

Comment